In Harmony With Natural Law: A Template


The Psychological Types (PT) associated with the two poles of psyche are classic Vedanta interpretations. Within this system, a specific type of Yoga corresponds with each PT. The chart above also includes the Jungian (J) equivalent of Vedanta Psychological types.

Perceiving and Judging are the two methods by which psyche discriminates information.

Active (sensation) and Meditative (intuition) are perceiving functions, while Intellectual (thinking) and Emotional (feeling) are judging functions.

Attitude Awareness may be considered the predominant mental attitude needed to maintain a healthy awareness of the respective PT function.

“Personal Responsibility” refers to an ongoing and consistent awareness that our thoughts and choices matter. Our choice to respond instead of react to the conditions of life is our greatest expression of freewill.

“Grass is Greener” refers to an ongoing and consistent awareness that the grass is greenest right here, right now, because this is where you are. While it is important to have goals, we must be diligent not to overlook what we can think and must do in the present.

“Object of Thought” refers to an ongoing and consistent awareness that what we think about affects our perception of conditions we encounter.

“Gratitude” refers to an ongoing and consistent appreciation for the conditions unfolding in our life, trusting that nature is perpetually working towards becoming conscious of itself.

Nature/Brahman (Universal Mind) exists within each individual as Atman (Self), a threefold personality that may be supported by Willpower, Mindfulness, and Ritual.

Willpower is the muscle of freewill. Like all muscles, it must be used or it will atrophy.

There is no meditation without mindfulness. Emotion without mindfulness is ego manipulation.

Ritual is the active cultivation of discipline. Habit is passive & compliant resignation. There is no meaningful ritual without willpower inspired mindfulness.

Together, Willpower, Mindfulness, and Ritual are the three qualities of behavior that identify if an individual is in harmony with natural law.


You may think of the four psychological types in a kind of rank. Along the Judging axis, Superior (top) and Inferior (bottom). Along the Perceiving axis, 2nd Superior (left) and 2nd Inferior (right). Your superior function may be feeling, not thinking, and thus, you would place that at the top. You may also need to adjust the poles of the perceiving axis to your own experience. Further, you may also want to determine wether you are an introvert or an extrovert.

For further reading on Psychological Types, I recommend Lectures on Jung’s Typology


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s